Recital: Sir András Schiff: The Last Sonatas

I was privileged to attend the third or a three concert series by Sir András Schiff presented by the University Musical Society (UMS) in Ann Arbor.

The three concert series featured the last three piano sonatas of Haydn, Beethoven, Mozart, and Schubert, and the concert that I attended featured:

  • Haydn, Sonata in E-flat Major, Hob. XVI:52
  • Beethoven, Sonata No. 32 in C Minor, Op. 111
  • Mozart, Sonata in D Major, K. 576
  • Schubert, Sonata in B-flat Major, D. 960

It was, as I expected, an amazing recital.  Schiff seemed so relaxed yet focused and technically flawless.  I especially enjoyed the Beethoven Sonata.  Schiff received a well deserved standing ovation for this outstanding performance.